Tags

, , , , ,

This recipe from Minimalist Baker was brought to me by my sister-in-law at Adventures in Polishland and it’s now in our regular rotation. It also happens to be vegan! Except I make it with chicken broth instead of vegetable stock because I always have chicken bouillon in my pantry- unless I’m cooking for someone who is vegan.

lentil soup

One tip that I learned from making it again this week- don’t freeze and reuse kale. Ick… it tasted like seaweed and I had to fish most of it out (pun intended). Kale is cheap enough that I think I’m okay with throwing out what I don’t use…

Other than that fishy kale, this soup was so delicious. It’s healthy comfort food that’s wonderful for winter, especially following days of consuming cheese and chocolate and cured meats and piles of sugar.

Overall tastiness: 6/6 hobs – I will eat this soup any time.

Level of Difficulty: Easyish. You need to chop an onion, chop up garlic and peel/chop potatoes and carrots. You cook them separately and you have to dump in the spices and cook them before adding the broth and lentils. But then you’re pretty much done. It sits on the stove for 20 minutes and you throw in the kale for a few minutes before serving.

Clarity/Helpfulness of the Recipe: 6/6 stars

Cheapness factor: Cheap. Lentils, carrots, potatoes, onions, kale – pretty darn cheapbo.

Healthiness factor: Healthy! And vegan!

How long does it actually take: Including the simmering time, this takes me about an hour.

And I’m also sharing a picture of lovebird mourning doves that hung out on the balcony for a bit today. It’s blurry because I didn’t want to get too close and scare them away:

mourning doves

I’m always looking out for good lentil soup recipes because 1. they’re delicious and 2. they’re super-duper cheap. Do you have a good one? Please share it in the comments!