Tags

, , , ,

Keeping watch over a toddler in public spaces requires you to be in fight-or-flight mode most of the time and it’s evolutionary and probably good for your kid. It just sucks for you.

That said, I got to have the moment today when it started raining on the hiking trail and I stretched my arms out and tilted my head to the sky, letting the rain hit my face. It was just a moment, but I closed my eyes. When I opened my eyes, my son was watching me, smiling.

Hiking with a toddler (much like doing anything else with a toddler) requires some patience. He wanted to stop every few feet to investigate a pinecone or a stick or to see if he could see the running water he was hearing.  He can run fast enough that I have to jog to keep up with him, but on the trail today, he took a very slow pace. He also wanted to investigate the tunnel and the mosaic garden that wasn’t on our way. I kept reminding myself to follow his example and pay more attention. Not fair that I had to pee the whole time though. It might have been easier if I could just go in my pants like he does.

