Tags

, , , ,

For a brief period of time, I was participating in a cabaret show, singing show tunes for an older audience. During that brief period of time, my dad was really into Celtic Woman. They did a cover of Dougie MacLean’s Caledonia, which is a song my dad had always liked. I’d never heard it. He sent me the sheet music with a note that if I sang this one, “you’ll really make the old people cry.”

The lyrics of this song are so sappy, I cringed reading them. I shoved the sheet music away in some forgotten folder and didn’t think any more about it. I actively avoided talking to him about it anymore.

So then last year, it came time to plan my dad’s memorial… and to decide whether or not I was going to sing. And I thought of this song… and about old people crying… I decided it was absolutely appropriate. My last inside joke with my dad.

Now that it’s been a year, I wanted to explain it… in case anyone who attended his memorial was also cringing at the lyrics. This song that I rolled my eyes at will now forever break my heart.

