Tags

, , , ,

5/6 stars: Great book that I would recommend to most people. (e.g. The Man Who Mistook His Wife For a Hat by Oliver Sacks)

I loved this book! It’s the best book club pick ever since I’ve been in book club. 🙂 Lots of gorgeous post-apocalypse imagery (i.e. trees growing through cars stuck for miles of freeways, for instance) and life-affirming stuff. I found myself in wonder at the grocery store, pulling fresh milk off the shelf and into my cart… and all this food that I didn’t have to do any work to produce. The characters in the book talk about how incredible that they used to be able to flip a switch and the room would flood with electric light. Books that make me think about my life differently- even if it’s only slightly differently and even if it’s only for a very short period of time- get high ratings from me. Very rare that I get this from fiction- so A+, Emily St. John Mandel.

