Tags

, , , ,

Last Sunday, I got to meet one of the goddesses in my pantheon- Jenny Lawson, aka “The Bloggess” at her reading at Vroman’s in Pasadena.  I was there for four hours and I ended up getting the stomach flu afterwards, but it was worth it.

I discovered The Bloggess through Josh Weed’s blog post about his experience meeting her… and getting a video of him and her being angry pandas… I am jealous… Josh Weed is a guy who is openly gay and Mormon and married to a woman with whom he has four daughters. He’s also in the mental health profession and suffers from social anxiety issues himself like The Bloggess. So anyway- he linked to her blog with a “caveat” that “the woman swears like a sailor on death row with Tourretes.” A married gay Mormon warned me about her, so I knew I’d like her.

She’s a cheerleader for all those who have suffered from depression and anxiety and self-esteem issues. She writes a hilarious blog that is about stuff she thinks about and random things that happen in her life and she’s made that into a huge thing… a huge thing that caused hundreds of people to show up to wait in line for her to sign the second book she wrote. I want to be her when I grow up. I told her so.

the bloggess

And then I posted this picture on Instagram and people told me that I looked like her. How awesome would it be to have your hero also be your doppelganger? The answer is very awesome. I will sign your books any time people, any time.

She also shared that she writes 3-4 blog posts at a time and doesn’t post them all at once… because there are days in between where she can’t/doesn’t feel like writing. Taking note.

