Tags

, ,

4/6 StarsGood book that I found worthwhile to read, but wouldn’t necessarily recommend it to everybody. (e.g. Bossypants by Tina Fey)

Who doesn’t love a black-and-white Victorian era circus where the magic is actually real? This book was gorgeous and I’d love to see the movie. It was fun to read- mystery and romance and fantasy all at once. Something I’d never pick for myself (because enjoying myself for the sake of enjoying myself is something I’m trying to learn how to do) which makes me grateful, once again, that I’m in a book club.

The last quarter of the book, however, I could have done without. I devoured the book until the last 100 pages and then it came to a screeching halt. The hyper-emotional state of the two main characters started to wear on me and although I’d played along with their magic world for the first 300 pages, it became exceedingly clear that they were making up the rules and then bending those rules they made up as they went. It was exhausting.

But still. Liked it.

