Tags

, , , , ,

The summer after my junior year at Pepperdine, I went on a mission trip to Okinawa, Japan. Okinawa has a large US military presence which as infiltrated a large portion of the culture- resulting in some interesting food creations. Spam and hot dogs mixed in with yakisoba noodles or in the middle of onigiri was one. Taco rice was another. We were fed a lot of taco rice in Okinawa because, I found out later, it’s something that Okinawans believe Americans eat. Maybe Americans in Okinawa, I guess… I mentioned something to one of them about how it was a new thing for me and they looked really confused.

Anywho- it’s essentially a layer of white rice, a layer of taco meat, a layer of shredded cheddar cheese, a layer of lettuce and a sprinkling of chopped tomatoes. I stumbled upon recipes for it on Pinterest which call for soy sauce and sake- not sure that they used anything other than taco seasoning packets, but maybe I’m wrong.

This article gives you a nice overview of the dish and where it came from.

My dad looked it up immediately when I got back from Japan and made some for us. Which is what caused me to look it up today. He was always very into whatever we were doing…

