Tags

, , , , , , ,

4/6 stars: Good book that I found worthwhile to read, but wouldn’t necessarily recommend it to everybody. (e.g. Bossypants by Tina Fey)

I’ve read 14 books this year- which is a lot considering the year is not over and I only read 4 books in all of 2014. June and July, I read four books each month and in August, I read 3.

I had to take a sabbatical from reading or any kind of leisure activity that involved my brain once my dad died.

I finished one book this month- The Enchanted by Rene Denfield. I read this one because it was the book club pick and our meeting is this week. I had to slog through it a bit and probably would have enjoyed it a lot more if I wasn’t so recently familiar with death. The writing was gorgeous and the story idea was original.

I figure, if I can get through a really detailed description of cremation (including how the brain “explodes”), I think I can go back to reading anything again.

It gets a solid 4 out of 6. 3.5 if I have to use a 5-star rating scale.

Next up is The Girl Who Slept With God by Val Brelinski. I have to read this one because it’s very similar to the plot of the only good novel plot I’ve ever come up with. You think I’d be disappointed someone got to it before me- but I was actually relieved thinking that now I don’t have to write a novel.

After that is Jenny Lawson’s (aka “the bloggess”) second book “Furiously Happy.” I have to get this one read before the first week of December when I will be going to her book signing and meeting her! Woo! Maybe I can say something more witty than what I did for Miranda July (I just kind of stammered at her greatness… gulp).

