Tags

, , , ,

3/6 Stars: OK book that is functional for informational purposes (or on the rare occasion that I read something fictional, it’s mildly entertaining) but is lacking in flair and is a bit of a chore to get through

Michael Hastings’ The Last Magazine was the book club pick this month and, like last month, it’s another book that I never would have chosen to read on my own. I didn’t really get interested in it until I was about 3/4 of the way through it. Probably doesn’t help that I’m very out-of-the-loop when it comes to what is happening/has happened in the Middle East in the last twenty years and this book was all about the media coverage of that subject right after 9/11.

I wanted to write something about it though just because I appreciated that it was a novel written about work. I’ve been toying with the idea of writing something fictionalized- but based on real events. Michael Hastings got to take poetic license with the past… that’s something powerful.

