Tags

, , , ,

3/6 Stars: OK book that is functional for informational purposes (or on the rare occasion that I read something fictional, it’s mildly entertaining) but is lacking in flair and is a bit of a chore to get through

I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs this week. I was entertained enough to get through it in a week, but I was disappointed with it overall. I absolutely loved his Talking Pictures which nothing but a compilation of found photographs with writing on the back. I sent my copy of that to my mom and my mom sent me this book and its sequel in return.

Ransom Riggs has written a novel inspired by actual found pictures. That part’s really cool. Throughout the book, though, I was reminded of the stories I’ve heard of disabled people and mentally ill people being shut up in homes for the … peculiar. I’ve also heard awful stories of the people who traveled with “freak” shows. This book makes light of these realities.

The children live during WWII and one of the most prominent children is there because he’s fled the Nazi regime. We’re reminded again of actual monsters that killed people systematically- which I find much more terrifying than the tentacled monsters that prey on the peculiar children in this book.

It was entertaining, but in the end, I found the plot convoluted and clunky. The protagonist made some awkward statements and acted like an asshole more times than I’d like. I don’t think I’m going to get through the sequel.

