Tags

, , , , , ,

4/6 stars: Good book that I found worthwhile to read, but wouldn’t necessarily recommend it to everybody.

**this review contains spoilers**

So I found another book club with a meeting that I can make it to. This month’s pick is a graphic novel. I had never read a graphic novel before so this was totally new to me. I didn’t think I’d be interested in it. Delightfully, I was wrong.

The criticisms I’ve read about this book is that it’s another story about a troubled male protagonist that is brought to his greatest potential with the help of a manic-pixie-dream-girl. I agree that it falls into the same trap. It was still fun though…

A man who says he’ll die for his art is given the ability to make whatever he wants with the caveat that he only gets 200 more days to live. In that time, he makes lots of art- and he’s told that his work “lacks focus.” Manic-pixie tells him not to care so much about the opinions of people whose opinions about other things he doesn’t agree with and then she also tells him she’s pregnant. And then she dies. And then he goes nuts and makes a sky-scraper sized (nude) sculpture of her holding their baby who was never born… so this is his focused artistic achievement that he’ll be remembered for for years and years and years.

Hmph… What’s the point? That artistic achievement should not be sought at the expense of love and family? That love and family are catalysts to artistic achievement?  I might have missed the point.

…but it was fun! And it was really satisfying to breeze through a 400 page book in 2 days. It makes me want to read some Neil Gaiman- who said that The Sculptor was the best graphic novel he’s read in years (according to the cover).

