Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

NieNie linked to a sermon posted on the lds.org website called “Choose to Believe.” Its central premise is that wanting to believe is (or at least could be) enough for God to reveal himself to you. They include a reference from the Book of Mormon-  3 Nephi 14:9 “For every one that asketh, receiveth; and he that seeketh, findeth; and to him that knocketh, it shall be opened.” This sounds curiously similar to Matthew 7:7-8 which says “”Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.

Too bad it’s not true. I’d love to be the princess daughter of the king of the universe. I want to believe that everything happens for a reason and that it’s all going according to a plan made by an all-powerful being who loves me. That would just be super awesome if it were true. It’s absurd- but if it could be possible, then yes, I want to believe that.

And sure, it’s a choice. I’m choosing not to believe in absurdities. It has been revealed to me through my education and my life experience thus far that “God” is a construct of the human imagination- a being that is reconstructed according to the whims of culture and history. “God” is a being that cannot exist outside of the human mind.

I choose to believe in history. I choose to believe in science. I choose to believe in an inherent worth in people- regardless of what they believe or who they marry- and that killing people is wrong. Does me believing in these things make them more real? If I clap my hands and say “I do believe in science!”, will Tinkerbell Stephen Hawking get stronger? Did I just get smarter?

Adding my voice to the many who also believe in science and history and humanity makes us stronger, right? Maybe there’s something to that…

