Last week, I got a mega-death-cold and my husband insisted I go to the doctor. I told him it was “just a cold” and there’s really nothing a doctor can do besides tell me to rest and drink lots of fluids. We have both, however, been to urgent cares for colds in the past and we’ve been prescribed antibiotics. Antibiotics are not supposed to work on colds since colds are caused by viruses and antibiotics don’t do anything to viruses. But… I usually get better the very next day after I start the antibiotics… And it’s not just me spontaneously getting over my cold. My colds, when left alone, will linger for days… weeks… If it’s accompanied by a cough, it might take over a month to go away completely. So what’s that about? I don’t know… I’m not a doctor.

So anyway… I call my husband’s favorite urgent care and ask if they take Medi-Cal. When they tell me they don’t, I ask them how much it is to see the doctor and pay out of pocket. She tells me that it “starts” at $60 but because I told her I have Medi-Cal, they can’t treat me since they might get fined.

You read that correctly. They won’t get fined for withholding medical treatment from me because I’m poor. They will get fined, however, for allowing me to pay for care- because I’m poor.

I eventually found an urgent care that would take Medi-Cal and the doctor told me to rest and drink lots of fluids… at least I didn’t have to pay for the appointment.

antibiotics for cold

