Tags

,

I just finished Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In. I give it 3 out of 5 stars which, on my rating scale, is not a bad rating. It means that it was worth my while- I got some good stuff out of it, but it didn’t blow my mind. I got interested in the book after hearing her TED Talk and several interviews she did with NPR. I was intrigued by her comments that women tend to underplay their achievements and attribute their success to outside influences. Men tend to do the opposite- they overvalue their achievements and attribute their success to themselves. This difference alone leads to men grabbing for (and getting) more opportunities than women. I was also intrigued by her insight that success and likeability are positively correlated in men and negatively correlated in women. Being liked is essential to success, so we have a hard-wired roadblock to success for women in general. That sucks.

I appreciated that this book caused me to take a second look at a lot of the attitudes and habits I retain that hold me back from making progress not just career-wise but personally as well.

I have no desire to become a CEO of anything (attribute that to my gender if you want, but that’s not going to change) so the large part of the book about the structure of corporate institutions didn’t interest me. Hence the three stars and no more.

